Public Document Pack



BURNLEY BOROUGH COUNCIL FULL COUNCIL

MECHANICS THEATRE

Wednesday, 20th October, 2021

PRESENT

MEMBERS

His Worshipful The Mayor (Councillor Mark Townsend) in the Chair;

Councillors C Towneley (Vice-Chair), A Anwar, G Birtwistle, C Briggs, P Campbell, F Cant, P Chamberlain, S Chaudhary, T Commis, S Cunliffe, I Emo, D Ferrier, B Foster, P Gill, S Graham, J Harbour, A Hosker, M Hurt, S Hussain, J Inckle, K Ingham, M Ishtiaq, M Johnstone, A Kelly, A Khan, G Lishman, M Lishman, S Lone, L Mehanna, N Mottershead, A Raja, A Royle and D Whitaker

OFFICERS

Mick Cartledge Chief Executive

Lukman Patel Chief Operating Officer

Howard Hamilton-Smith Head of Finance and Property

Catherine Waudby Head of Legal and Democratic Services

Chris Gav Governance Manager Eric Dickinson Democracy Officer Imelda Grady Democracy Officer Alison McEwan Democracy Officer **David Bristow** Mayor's Officer Mark Hindman Graphic Designer Paul Barlow Graphic Designer

Motion to Council 37

It was moved by Councillor Cosima Towneley and seconded by Councillor John Harbour that:

I firmly believe there is a time and place when recognition of eminent service given to the Borough from Council colleagues should be recognised. The retirement of Andrew Tatchell as a Councillor is one such occasion and I propose that in accordance with Section 249 (1) of the Local Government Act 1972 the Mayor and Councillors assembled here resolve to admit Andrew Tatchell as an Honorary Alderman for his tenacity, longevity and dedication to the Borough of Burnley and that his name shall be enrolled on the Honorary Alderman's

Roll and on a certificate conferring upon him the title of Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Burnley. His retirement is indeed a sad loss to the Borough and the Council Chamber.

On being put to the vote, the motion was approved and it was RESOLVED unanimously.