Agenda and minutes

Full Council - Wednesday, 11th April, 2018 6.30 pm

Venue: Town Hall, Burnley

Contact: Democracy Office 

No. Item


Minutes of the Last Meeting held on 21st February 2018. pdf icon PDF 190 KB

To receive, as read, the Minutes of the proceedings of the previous Council meeting, and to confirm them or otherwise.



The Minutes of the meeting of the Council held on the 21st February 2018 were confirmed and signed by the Chair.


Mayor's Communications

To receive communications (if any) from His Worship the Mayor.


The Mayor presented Long Service Awards to the following Members for their 8 years continuous service to the Council, with continuous meaning a break of 4 years or less;

Councillors Jean Cunningham, Tony Harrison, Shah Hussain,

Arif Khan, Neil Mottershead, and Tom Porter.

Members joined the Mayor in thanking them for their contribution to the Borough.


The Mayor also thanked all those Members who, in addition to himself, were standing for re-election- as follows;

Councillors Gordon Birtwistle, Frank Cant, Jean Cunningham,

Bea Foster, Sue Graham, David Heginbotham, Shah Hussain,

Neil Mottershead, and Jeff Sumner.

He also thanked the following Members who were retiring at the end of the Municipal Year;

Councillors Gary Frayling,  Roger Frost, Tony Harrison, Trish Ellis, and Tom Porter.


Members joined the Mayor in thanking them all for their contribution to the Borough and wished them well in the future.



Notice of Motion- White Ribbon pdf icon PDF 184 KB

To consider the Strategic Plan Progress Reports of Executive Members.


It was moved by Councillor Lubna Khan and seconded by Councillor Ida


Carmichael that;


“That this Council welcomes the White Ribbon Status that it has been awarded from White Ribbon UK.

This Council encourages Members to take the White Ribbon Pledge, promote the White Ribbon principles, and pledge to “stand up, and never standby”

This Council will further seek to recruit and train Ambassadors and Champions from within its Members and staff to promote the stamping out of violence and aggression against women in our society.


White Ribbon Pledge:

Never excuse, commit or remain silent about male violence against women.


White Ribbon Principles:

·          Wear a white ribbon and encourage others in the community to do the same

·          Talk about the Campaign to colleagues, friends and family

·          Encourage groups and organisations that you work with to be involved

·          Promote the Campaign in media and social media opportunities

·          Help identify other potential White Ribbon Ambassadors

·          Abide by the White Ribbon Campaign policies

·          Understand the issue of male violence against women and girls, and men’s and boys’ roles in preventing it

·          Encourage men and boys to take a stand against male violence against women and girls

·          Actively oppose the gender inequalities and stereotypes that underpin male violence

·          Help raise the profile and influence of the White Ribbon Campaign nationally and locally


In accordance with Council Procedure Rule 16.4 it was requisitioned that the names be recorded to indicate how each Member present gave his or her vote.


For the Motion

Councillors Howard Baker, Gordon Birtwistle, Charlie Briggs, Margaret Brindle, Frank Cant, Ida Carmichael, Saeed Chaudhary, Jean Cunningham, Trish Ellis, Danny Fleming, Bea Foster, Sue Graham, Joanne Greenwood, John Harbour, Tony Harrison, David Heginbotham, Alan Hosker, Shah Hussain, Mohammed Ishtiaq, Marcus Johnstone, Anne Kelly, Arif Khan, Lubna Khan, Wajid Khan, Margaret Lishman, Sobia Malik, Tony Martin, Elizabeth Monk, Neil Mottershead, Andrew Newhouse, Lian Pate, Tom Porter Asif Raja  ,Paul Reynolds, David Roper, Ann Royle, Jeff Sumner, Andrew Tatchell, and Mark Townsend.



Against the Motion






The motion was declared to be carried and it was RESOLVED accordingly.

Recorded Vote
TitleTypeRecorded Vote textResult
Notice of Motion- White Ribbon Motion Carried
  • View Recorded Vote for this item
  • 74.

    Annual Report from the Chair of Scrutiny pdf icon PDF 43 KB

    To consider the Annual Report from the Chair of Scrutiny.


    RESOLVED             That the annual report of the Scrutiny Chair be noted.


    Strategic Plan Progress Reports




    That the Strategic Plan Progress Reports of Executive Members be noted.